Sharing my R notes

I started working with R 2 1/2 years ago. I remember opening R closing it and thinking it was the dumbest thing ever (command line to a non programmer is not inviting). Now it’s my constant friend. From the beginning I took notes to remind myself all of the things I learned and relearned. They’ve been invaluable to me in learning. They are not particularly well arranged nor do they credit sources properly. There are likely bad or outdated practices in there but I figured they may be helpful to others learning the language and so I’m sharing.

Note that :

1) they are poorly arranged
2) they may have mistakes
3) they don’t credit others work properly or at all

They were for me but now I think maybe others will find them useful so here they are:

*Note that the file is larger ~7000KB and 274 pages worth.

About tylerrinker

I am Literacy PhD student with a bent for the quantitative and a passion for R.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Sharing my R notes

  1. Alex says:

    Thanks for sharing!!! Very useful!!!

  2. Eran says:

    Yeah, potentially very useful. Thanks. If you created the pdf using latex, maybe you want to add bookmarks (or table of content),
    {
    \usepackage[pdfstartview=FitB,pdfstartpage = 3]{hyperref}
    }
    So users can easily reach what they look for.
    Great work.
    Eran

  3. Guibrich says:

    Very insteresting; Very useful
    I share it around me.
    Regardq

  4. Phil says:

    Wow, thank you for sharing – puts my R notes to shame :-)

  5. mark leeds says:

    amazing notes. I think you understated the quality significantly in your announcement. thank you.

  6. This is excellent and an ideal course supplement. Thanks for sharing.

    George Hart

  7. Linwei Tian says:

    Thanks so much. The codes are so useful for everyday use.

  8. Song Kun says:

    Thanks for your sharing.Nice!

  9. Stas says:

    Can’t download, could you pls check link?

  10. Rouseguy says:

    This is so good !

  11. Goffredo Iannetti says:

    Compliments! It’s a work I would make it. I think to consider it as my base for evolve. Thank you.

  12. Bill Yarberry says:

    Mr. Rinker,

    As Columbus said of gold – “Most Excellent”!! Thanks much for sharing. Sometimes a historical learning process can be more useful than a polished presentation because it comes from the perspective of someone who at one point did not know and now knows. Just as a minor FYI, if you used headings in Word (heading style1, 2, 3 ….), you can use something like Nuance’s PDF converter professional to convert Word heading styles to bookmarks.

    • tylerrinker says:

      Thanks Bill. I did not know that. Useful information (though I pretty much use LaTeX exclusively now). If only you were around 2 years ago to tell me this :-)

  13. The link of the pdf file is not accessible.

  14. 2radix5 says:

    appreciate for sharing your efforts.! It’s a live practical manual. !

  15. C. López says:

    Thanks for your comment in my blog and, of course, for your notes

  16. Matt says:

    Great notes, very comprehensive. Would it be possible to get a look at the code you describe here:

    One Function to Conduct Multiple Tests of Normality:

    source(“C:/Users/Rinker/Desktop/PhD Program/CEP 523-Stat Meth Ed Inference/R Stuff/Scripts/Assumption Testing/Tests of Normality.txt”)

  17. Rick says:

    Thanks a lot, Tyler. I’ve been working with R for several years now and I’ve already learned some great stuff from your first 50 pages.

  18. Francisco says:

    Awesome help!!! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

